While looking at your contacts, either in the contacts section or within a campaign, you may have noticed that there is a column labeled 'Stage'. Each contact can be marked as one of six different stages: Sourced, Messaged, Opened, Clicked, Replied or Interested.

As SourceWhale is an email automation tool, the Stage of each contact will be automatically updated when it comes to emails, but will need to be changed manually for any other outreach task (phone, Inmail). For example, if a contact replies to your email, our system will automatically mark the Stage as 'Replied' or 'Interested'. But, if they respond to your LinkedIn InMail, you will need to manually change the stage to 'Replied' or 'Interested'.

When a stage is marked as 'Replied' or 'Interested', all future outreach will immediately stop.

When a contact replies to your email, SourceWhale sentiment detection tool can determine whether or not that contact is interested in continuing the conversation, based on the content of the reply.

Sourced - you have sourced this contact's details (either via the chrome extension, via a spreadsheet, or manually added them) and they have been added to a campaign.

Messaged - At least one of the following has happened: they have been sent an email, they have been marked as having been sent a LinkedIn connection request or InMail, or a phone call or general task has been marked as completed for them.

Opened - Our open tracking system has detected that they have opened an email in the campaign at least once. You must have open tracking turned on to enable this tracking. You can read more on our open and click-tracking system here.

Clicked - Our click tracking system has detected that the person has clicked on any link or attachment you have put in any email in a campaign. You must have switched on click tracking in your campaign settings to enable this tracking. In order to enable click tracking in your campaigns, you must have a custom tracking domain set up. You can read more on our click tracking here.

Replied - This means the contact has replied to an email or message but is not interested. All outreach to the contact will stop as soon as a contact is marked with this stage.

Interested - This means that the contact has replied to an email or another step and is interested. All outreach to the contact will stop as soon as a contact is marked with this stage.

Note: 'Not Interested' is covered under the Replied part of the funnel. For example, if someone has been messaged but they haven't opened the email, they will then stay in Messaged and won't progress to Opened rather than them being a 'Not Opened' stage. In regards to manual tasks, changing somebody to Replied is effectively saying this person replied, but wasn't interested. If they are interested, you would mark the stage under 'Interested'.


Stuck or need some help? Click on the chat icon at the bottom right hand corner to connect with our support team! 💬

Did this answer your question?